Monster Energy Yamaha Star Racing’s Daxton Bennick took the win in Texas just as he did at the first 250SX Futures Class event of the 2023 Monster Energy AMA Supercross season. Supercross Futures, an AMA National Championship, is a unique amateur program that gives up-and-coming racers a chance to gain stadium experience and earn points toward a professional racing license. Also replicating his Round 1 finish, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Casey Cochran took home the second-place trophy at Arlington. Orange Brigade Factory KTM’s Preston Boespflug fought off a late race charge to hold onto a third place finish on the slick, Texas track.

Daxton Bennick (241) rode unchallenged to the win in the Arlington Supercross Futures race

The Supercross Futures racers battle through four events held at select rounds of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross season leading to a championship race held during the Supercross finale in Salt Lake City to crown a Supercross Futures AMA National Champion. To give an idea of the speed these amateur racers already possess on the technical Supercross tracks, multiple racers including Haiden Deegan and Talon Hawkins have already moved up into the professional ranks. Deegan currently sits fourth in the Eastern Regional 250SX Class standings.

When the starting gate dropped inside AT&T Stadium, Bennick jumped into the lead and quickly pulled away from the rest of the field. He had Cochran right behind him with BarX Suzuki’s Chase Yentzer in third. Yentzer went for a wild ride down the first lane of jumps, getting sideways and jumping off the track. After the field had completed half a lap of the 6-minute plus one lap race, Bennick looked smooth out front, Cochran chased in second, Orange Brigade Factory KTM’s Preston Boespflug had reached third, and VPE Triangle Cycles’ Bryce Shelly sat fourth.

Orange Brigade Factory KTM’s Julien Beaumer carded sixth after the opening lap and was the rider on the move. Just before the race’s halfway point Beaumer moved around Shelly and set his sights on Boespflug. On the final lap Beaumer was within striking distance, but a bobble in the whoops section – a series of large, tightly-spaced bumps – allowed Boespflug to pull enough distance to secure the spot. At the checkered flag Bennick took the win, Cochran grabbed second, and Boespflug brought it in for the final podium position.

The next Supercross Futures race takes place in Glendale, Arizona on April 8th inside State Farm Stadium. Following that, The East Rutherford round inside MetLife Stadium on April 22nd sets the final line-up for the Supercross Futures AMA National Championship race that takes place during Round 17 of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross season inside Rice-Eccles Stadium in Salt Lake City on May 13th.

The complete Monster Energy AMA Supercross season, including Supercross Futures events, stream live on Peacock. Select Supercross races are also broadcast on NBC, USA Network, and CNBC.

250SX Futures Class podium (racers left to right) Preston Boespflug, Daxton Bennick, and Casey Cochran

250SX Futures Class Results

  1. Daxton Bennick, Morganton, N.C., Yamaha
  2. Casey Cochran, Clermont, Fla., Husqvarna
  3. Preston Boespflug, Winchester, Calif., KTM
  4. Julien Beaumer, Lake Havasu City, Ariz., KTM
  5. Bryce Shelly, Telford, Pa., Yamaha
  6. Trevor Colip, Bowlng Green, Ind., Kawasaki
  7. Cole Davies, Waitoki, NZ, Yamaha
  8. Slade Varola, Simi Valley, Calif., Kawasaki
  9. Avery Long, New London, Minn., Yamaha
  10. Blake Gardner, Canyon Country, Calif., Kawasaki