Ryan Dungey returned to the top step of the podium Saturday night at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, Calif., but the storyline coming out of Round 3 was as much about his title rivals’ trouble as the reigning champ’s first win of 2017.

Ken Roczen, who entered Anaheim as the points leader, was charging through the pack when he crashed hard over a triple and was left injured on the track.

Roczen was transported to a nearby hospital and later diagnosed with a compound fracture to the left forearm, according to a team statement. No timetable has been given for his return.

Missing from the 450SX Main Event completely was Dungey’s training partner Jason Anderson. After being taken out in his heat race by Vince Friese, Anderson retaliated by throwing a punch at Friese in the tunnel. The altercation led to Anderson being disqualified from Round 3.

With Anderson and Roczen left out of contention, and a good start from Dungey, it allowed the Red Bull KTM rider free reign over the 20-minute plus 1 lap feature. His wire-to-wire victory gave him sole possession of the championship lead.

Following Dungey home was teammate Marvin Musquin and HRC Honda’s Cole Seely. Cooper Webb, who picked up the holeshot, collected his best-career 450SX finish in fourth. Weston Peick, Josh Grant, Chad Reed, Eli Tomac, Davi Millsaps and Blake Baggett rounded out the top 10.

In the Western Regional 250SX Class, Justin Hill grabbed his first win of the season in dominant fashion, beating out title rivals Aaron Plessinger and Shane Mcelrath.

Mcelrath still maintains the red plate heading into Phoenix next weekend, but carries a slim six-point lead over Plessinger.

Meanwhile, standout rookie Austin Forkner had a solid night, picking up his first career heat race, following it up with the holeshot in the 250SX Main Event and finally holding off veteran Martin Davalos for fourth.

Monster Energy Supercross will be back in action Saturday, January 28, for Round 4 at University of Phoenix Stadium.

450SX Results:

1.) Ryan Dungey
2.) Marvin Musquin
3.) Cole Seely
4.) Cooper Webb
5.) Weston Peick
6.) Josh Grant
7.) Chad Reed
8.) Eli Tomac
9.) Davi Millsaps
10.) Blake Baggett

250SX Results:

1.) Justin Hill
2.) Aaron Plessinger
3.) Shane Mcelrath
4.) Austin Forkner
5.) Martin Davalos
6.) Jimmy Decotis
7.) Dan Reardon
8.) Tyler Bowers
9.) Josh Hansen
10.) Jeremy Martin

450SX Points:

1.) Ryan Dungey – 69
2.) Marvin Musquin – 62
3.) Ken Roczen – 51
4.) Cole Seely – 51
5.) Eli Tomac – 44
6.) Weston Peick – 43
7.) Davi Millsaps – 39
8.) Josh Grant – 37
9.) Jason Anderson – 36
10.) Cooper Webb – 36

250SX Points:

1.) Shane Mcelrath – 70
2.) Aaron Plessinger – 64
3.) Justin Hill – 63
4.) Martin Davalos – 54
5.) Austin Forkner – 47
6.) Jimmy Decotis – 42
7.) Jeremy Martin – 40
8.) Tyler Bowers – 33
9.) Dan Reardon – 32
10.) Phil Nicoletti – 26

FOXSports.com contributed to this report.