Three Main Events, Three Different Starts, One Epic Challenge to Win $1 Million. Two AMA Amateur National Champions to be Crowned as 250 Futures and Supermini Futures Championships Take Place During Night Show   

ELLENTON, Fla., (August 27, 2019) – The Monster Energy Cup returns to Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas on October 19 for the ninth running of Monster Energy Supercross’ annual All-Star race.  

As expected, the sports top athletes are anticipated to race the Monster Energy Cup including last year’s Million Dollar Winner – Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac. “There’s tons of pressure, there’s three motos [Main Events]. You have to perform every time, especially if you want that big pay day,” said Tomac. 

Eli Tomac

“It’s not only about the money, it’s the feeling of crossing the finish line three times in a row on the same night that’s pretty amazing. It’s very tough to do,” offered Red Bull KTM Factory Racing and 2017’s Million Dollar Winner, Marvin Musquin. “It was a crazy night of racing [2017] and being able to win it is the highlight of my career.” 

Marvin Musquin

To make this year’s race even more challenging for the athletes, 5-time Supercross Champion and Monster Energy Cup track designer Ricky Carmichael went to great lengths to create a one-of-a-kind hybrid track which features three different starts that will send the racers backwards during one of the three 10-Lap Main Events. Two starts will begin inside the stadium where athletes will veer to the left for one Main Event, then to the right for another, while a third start will take place outside of Sam Boyd Stadium where racers will have a long sweeping first turn that will have them screaming back into the stadium and down Monster Alley at full speed before hitting the first rhythm section.  

In all, the 2019 Monster Energy Cup track features 37 different obstacles, a fan-favorite over-under bridge, a Monster Energy Arch that traverses into the grandstands, dual sand sections and the ever-nagging Joker Lane, which as in year’s past will be a slower disadvantage that athletes will have to race through at least once during each Main Event. 

2019 Monster Energy Cup Track – Inside Left Start

2019 Monster Energy Cup Track – Inside Right Start

2019 Monster Energy Cup Track – Outside Start 

Additional athletes expected to race include reigning Supercross Champion and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Cooper Webb, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna and 2018 Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, plus Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Justin Barcia who also won this event back in 2012 when he debuted in the premiere 450SX Class. Debuting this year in the same fashion will be the ever-popular Monster Energy Kawasaki athlete, Adam Cianciarulo.  

The open Cup Class format pits competitors against each other on 250cc and 450cc machines and offers racers the option to choose the bike of their choice. The only rules are there are no rules and 3-time MXGP Champion and Team HRC athlete Tim Gajser plans to take full advantage of this opportunity. “I am really looking forward to racing the Monster Energy Cup in Las Vegas in October. It is a great event and I am excited to see how well I do on a Supercross-style racetrack,” said Gajser. 

Tim Gajser

Joining Gajser from the MXGP series is Team VHR KTM’s Jordi Tixier. Tixier captured his first Junior World Championship back in 2010 and followed that up with an MX2 World Championship title in 2014.  

Jordi Tixier

Veteran racer Mike Alessi also plans to take full advantage of the open rules as he attempts to qualify for the Monster Energy Cup aboard a Yamaha ESR YZ325 2-stroke. If successful, Alessi will be the first racer to do so on a 250cc or bigger 2-stroke in the history of the Monster Energy Cup.   

For the first-time ever, two of the premiere amateur classes from the Supercross Futures AMA National Championship will be contested at the Monster Energy Cup as the 250 Futures and Supermini Futures classes will both race for their respective championships. These young athletes will race in the same direction for both motos, but the starts will be completely different as they will take full advantage of both the inside and outside start gates. Each class will follow a two-moto racing format where each moto will be five minutes plus one lap in length. 
The top ten finishers in the 250 Futures class will automatically receive their Supercross license. 

While the athletes are qualifying inside the stadium, FanFest will take place from 12 p.m. to 6 p.m. outside the stadium in the paddock. Fans will be able to meet the athletes, attend autograph sessions and see the race bikes up close. 

This year’s FanFest will feature 19 acres of fun as Monster Energy pulls out all the stops for this once-a-year showcase. Besides live music and a DJ, fans can expect to see upwards of 16 of the world’s best Freestyle Motocross (FMX) athletes and 30 Bicycle Motocross (BMX) athletes competing in the Dirt Shark Biggest Whip contest and BMX Speed & Style Track competitions where $15,000 and $26,000 purses will be up-for-grabs respectively. Additional FanFest experiences will include the infamous Monster Energy Smoke Show and Harley Unknown Riders as they put on a thrilling, rubber-burning, smoke-billowing drifting exhibition throughout the afternoon.

Tickets are available at the Thomas & Mack Center Box Office, online at, 702-739-FANS or through FanFest passes are $20 and available in advance at the above ticket outlets or at the box office on the day of the race. Fans can also receive complimentary access to FanFest by recycling a can of Monster Energy on-site – must be accompanied by an event ticket. 

The Monster Energy Cup will be broadcast live on NBCSN starting at 7 p.m. PT / 10:00 p.m. ET or live via the NBC Sports app, NBC Sports Digital’s direct-to-consumer live streaming product. Subscribers of the Supercross Pass on NBC Sports Gold can revisit the best laps of 2019 from round 1 to 17. To find out more about the Supercross pass click here:

For the fourth consecutive season, International Supercross fans will have Live and On-Demand access to watch the 2019 Monster Energy Cup and the entire 2020 season with the Supercross Video Pass. This season’s subscription, available via Web, Android, IOS, AppleTV & Amazon Fire apps, will kick off October 1 with over 500 plus hours of Supercross racing. Relive the greatest moments from the past and watch the 2019 Monster Energy Cup for free with your 2020 subscription. Available to fans that live outside the United States. Visit to sign up starting October 1.

Past winners of the Monster Energy Cup dating back to its inception:

  • Ryan Villopoto – 2011 ($1 Million Winner)
  • Justin Barcia – 2012 
  • James Stewart – 2013 
  • Davi Millsaps – 2014
  • Ken Roczen – 2015 
  • Eli Tomac – 2016 
  • Marvin Musquin – 2017 ($1 Million Winner)
  • Eli Tomac – 2018 ($1 Million Winner)