Marvin Musquin dominated the Seattle Supercross at the CenturyLink Field while championship rivals Ryan Dungey and Eli Tomac rallied through the field after poor starts, drawing them even atop the 450SX points standings.

Jason Anderson took the holeshot at the start while Cooper Webb clipped a tuff block, kicking it out on the track in front of Dungey’s path. The championship leader went down over the tuff block and struggled to get his Red Bull KTM re-fired.

While Dungey dropped all the way to the back, Tomac hadn’t got a solid start either and was back in 10th.

Tomac and Dungey spent their races charging through the field, with Dungey placing fourth and Tomac placing second despite going down during the race. Their feats were made even more impressive given the fact that the Main Event had only been 17 minutes plus one lap long due to threatening weather conditions throughout the day.

Meanwhile, Anderson’s lead up-front had been short-lived as Musquin soon disposed of him for the top spot. Anderson later fell behind Webb and contact between the two cost the Husqvarna rider third place to Tomac. However, Tomac then had his off, and Anderson got the podium spot back. Anderson challenged Webb for second in the closing stages, and again Webb clipped a tuff block. The Yamaha rider went down and dropped out of the top five, moving Tomac and Dungey both up an extra spot. Tomac got by Anderson with two laps to go while Dungey made his final pass in the closing moments on Davi Millsaps for fourth. Broc Tickle, Blake Baggett, Cooper Webb, Chad Reed and Dean Wilson rounded out the top 10.

“It means a lot to get this win,” said Musquin. “We’ve been working hard and today was a good day. The track was really tough and technical, and you could easily make mistakes. I didn’t have the greatest start so I don’t know how I pulled it off, but I got into the lead pretty quick and just tried to ride consistent.”

In the 250SX class, the Western Regional riders were back in action where Justin Hill came in as the points leader over Aaron Plessinger. Plessinger closed in on Hill on the points after winning the 12-minute event, which underwent a full-race restart after a crash between Chase Marquier and Noah McConahy on the initial start.

Martin Davalos took the holeshot on both starts but eventually ended up losing the lead Plessinger both times. Plessinger controlled the race from then on to take the win over Hill and Mitchell Oldenburg, who rounded out the podium. It is Plessinger’s first win of the season.

450SX Results:

1. Marvin Musquin
2. Eli Tomac
3. Jason Anderson
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Davi Millsaps
6. Broc Tickle
7. Blake Baggett
8. Cooper Webb
9. Chad Reed
10. Dean Wilson

250SX West Results:

1. Aaron Plessinger
2. Justin Hill
3. Mitchell Oldenburg
4. Martin Davalos
5. Shane McElrath
6. Jimmy Decotis
7. Hayden Mellross
8. Kyle Chisholm
9. Cole Martinez
10. Justin Hoeft

Article by  Samuel Reiman of